The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize is the oldest and largest playwriting prize honoring women+ writing for the English-speaking theatre.



2024 Finalists Roxy Cook April De Angelis Justice Hehir Rhianna Ilube Jasmine Naziha Jones Alex Lin Lenelle Moïse Hannah Moscovitch a.k. payne Ava Pickett

Top row: Roxy Cook, April De Angelis, Justice Hehir, Rhianna Ilube, & Jasmine Naziha Jones
Bottom row: Alex Lin, Lenelle Moïse, Hannah Moscovitch, a.k. payne, & Ava Pickett


Contact us:


Willem de Kooning limited edition, signed print created especially for the Prize.

Visitors: 362715


“The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize has done more than any other single force to get plays by women collected and celebrated, but more importantly, produced.” - Marsha Norman, 1983 Winner for Night Mother

"The emergence of women playwrights over the history of the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize has spearheaded a change in the position of women in every realm of the theater." – Wendy Wasserstein, 1988 Winner for The Heidi Chronicles