The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize is the oldest and largest playwriting prize honoring women+ writing for the English-speaking theatre.



2021 Finalists Glace Chase Erika Dickerson-Despenza Miranda Rose Hall Dawn King Kimber Lee Janice Okoh Ife Olujobi Jiehae Park Frances Poet Beth Steel

2020-2021 Finalists:
Top row: Glace Chase, Erika Dickerson-Despenza, Miranda Rose Hall, Dawn King, & Kimber Lee
Bottom row: Janice Okoh, Ife Olujobi, Jiehae Park, Frances Poet, & Beth Steel



Willem de Kooning limited edition, signed print created especially for the Prize.

Visitors: 221641


“The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize has done more than any other single force to get plays by women collected and celebrated, but more importantly, produced.” - Marsha Norman, 1983 Winner for Night Mother

"The emergence of women playwrights over the history of the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize has spearheaded a change in the position of women in every realm of the theater." – Wendy Wasserstein, 1988 Winner for The Heidi Chronicles